College & Career Info

You're Invited

Longview High School
Longview, Texas

Grade Level Info
Financial Aid Info
Testing

 

Quick Links

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This page was last updated on
10/24/2012 01:12 PM

  The Counseling Department will post dates for college preview days as soon as the information is received.

Baylor University

Baylor Premiere


Premiere is an all-day Saturday event designed just for prospective freshmen and transfer students. (Parents are welcome too!) There are two Premiere events each year - Fall and Spring. It's a great time to explore campus, experience college life in person, and ask any questions you might have about Baylor.

Upcoming Premiere Dates:

September 22, 2012 - Register now!
April 6, 2013 - Online registration opens February 6, 2013

Sample Schedule

8:00-8:30 a.m. Check-In / Late Registration
Pick up your Premiere packet, including a detailed agenda for the day's activities, then kick the day off with our "Welcome to Baylor" Opening Session.

8:30-9:15 a.m. Opening Session

9:30–11:45 a.m. Academic Sessions #1 & #2
You will choose two fields of study and attend presentations by Baylor professors. Learn first-hand from current students and professors what our programs have to offer.

11:00 a.m.–3:15 p.m. Learn More About Baylor
This is your chance to pick and choose the activities that interest you most. You can also grab lunch at your convenience in one of our four residential restaurants. (A student meal ticket is included in your registration packet. Family members can purchase a ticket at the Opening Session or pay at the door of the restaurant.) Activity options include:

  • Campus Tours
  • Baylor Bear Fair
  • Shopping in the Baylor Bookstore
  • Residential Hall Open House
  • Self-guided Library Tours
  • Self-guided Student Life Center Tours
  • See the Baylor Bear Mascot
  • Biology Lab Tours
  • Chemistry Lab Tours
  • Engineering and Computer Science Lab Tours
  • Admissions Information Session
  • Scholarships/Financial Aid Information Session
  • Study Abroad Information Session
3:15–3:45 p.m. Closing Session
The day ends with a warm "see you soon" and some great entertainment from Baylor students.

 

Schreiner University

Schreiner University will offer two Schreiner Saturday programs:
November 10, 2012 - geared towards high school juniors and seniors
February 23, 2013 - geared towards all high school students

Schreiner Saturday offers an overview of campus, our academic programs, student activities and opportunities available to you at SU.

You will have a chance to hear presentations about the admission and financial aid process, and great tips on how to earn scholarships. You and your family will also be able to tour different academic buildings, our freshmen residence halls and our athletics facilities while you are here.

This program is an open house format, where you can pick several interest areas to visit. The activities will be spread across our campus, so will include some walking. We encourage you to wear comfortable walking shoes and dress for the weather.

*If you prefer an individual tour, or one-on-one meetings with coaches, professors and/or admission and financial aid counselors, please check out our daily tours during the week.

Stephen F. Austin State University

Showcase Saturday
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Fall Showcase: November 10, 2012
Spring Showcase: February 23, 2013 & April 6, 2013

Please join us on the Stephen F. Austin State University campus for our open house. You will have the opportunity to speak with representatives from academic departments, enjoy a campus tour, visit housing facilities, and learn about financial aid and scholarship opportunities.

Come experience student life first hand. No RSVP is required. Please visit this link for directions from our major Texas cities: www.sfasu.edu/admissions/visitsfa/directions.asp

For large groups:

To provide better service to our guests, please note that Showcase Saturday is intended for individual high school or college transfer students and their families. This day is not appropriate for busses of prospective students. If your group is interested in doing a large group tour, Monday - Friday, please contact the Office of Admissions at (936) 468-2504 to schedule a specialized visit on a weekday other than Showcase Saturday. Thank you for your cooperation.

Further details will be posted as we approach the big day. However, please feel free to contact the SFA Office of Admissions with any questions:

(936) 468-2504
admissions@sfasu.edu

Visiting the UT Austin campus is really the best way to know if it’s right for you.

If you’re considering applying for freshman admission, we’d love to have you (and your family) on campus for a day of activities tailored to your interests. Just pick a day and register for your visit; visits are held in the Undergraduate Admissions Center in John Hargis Hall (JHH).

Texas A&M University at Commerce

Join us October 20, 2012 for our Mane Event Preview Day! As you know, choosing the right college is an important decision.

Our preview day is a special day of programs for you and your family.

This day is designed to be informative and exciting…please don’t miss this opportunity to see and experience all that we have to offer you!

We will showcase all areas of the university ranging from academics to campus activities.

We encourage you to register online, so that we can prepare a special day for you and your guests!

Check out our tentative schedule to get a feel for the day.

You will have an opportunity to speak with representatives from Admissions, Residential Living and Learning, Financial Aid and Scholarships, Veterans and Military Services, Hispanic Outreach and a multitude of student organizations.

Our faculty have planned a great day of interactive sessions for you where they will provide a glimpse into our degree programs and majors.

For further information, contact the Office of Undergraduate Admissions at 903-886-5000 or toll free at           888-868-2682.

If you are a high school junior, senior or a transfer student, this event is for you!

There is no charge to attend!

Texas A&M University at Texarkana

The Office of Admissions is hosting our Fall Preview Day, on Saturday, October 20, 2012, from 2pm-5pm in Eagle Hall.Preview Day is a time set aside for high school juniors and seniors to come and tour the campus, as well as receive information on admissions procedures, scholarships, financial aid, academic programs, and student organizations and activities. We are excited this year to host a concert after this event with special guest �Gloriana�.   
  
  Students will attend 3 breakout sessions where they obtain information on Admissions, Scholarships/Financial Aid and Student Activities and (BLV) Bringle Lake Village.  At 3:45 pm, parents and students will learn about our 3 colleges and academic offerings.  At this time, deans and/or faculty representative will speak about their programs, and answer any questions that may arise.  Students may wish to speak with specific departments, so we invite all faculty and staff members to attend. We ask that all students RSVP through our website at WWW.TAMUT.EDU

As a member of The Texas A&M University System, Texas A&M University-Texarkana is a comprehensive regional university that provides students with academically challenging, engaging, and rewarding educational experiences through quality teaching, scholarship, student support services, cocurricular programming, research, and service. Through the personal attention of our faculty and staff, students are afforded the opportunity to acquire the knowledge, abilities, and skills to become leaders in their chosen profession and to prepare for the opportunities of serving in a global environment.

If you have any questions regarding this event, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Roderick McKnight
Recruitment Specialist/Eagle Express
Texas A&M University-Texarkana
P.O. Box 1307
Mount Pleasant, Texas 75455
Phone: 903/ 434-8322
Fax: 903/ 434-4426
Roderick.McKnight@tamut.edu

The University of Texas at Austin

Campus Visit Options

Prospective Freshmen Campus Visit (Accepting reservations through December 2012)read more

A UT Austin campus visit session consists of all three of the following activities and lasts about two-and-a-half hours.
  • Prospective Freshman Information SessionAn admissions counselor shares information about UT Austin, including why we’re consistently ranked among top universities and are a top destination for students from around the world.
  • Student Q&A: Current UT Austin students answer questions about what life is really like on the Forty Acres. Come prepared with questions.
  • Campus Walking Tour: Student-guided walking tours of campus for prospective students and families begin at the Undergraduate Admissions Center (John Hargis Hall). Given from the unique perspective of a current student, this is one of the best ways to get a feel for campus. Be sure to wear comfortable clothes and walking shoes; visitors walk about one mile on the tour.

Details about the location of the information session will be provided during the registration process. 

Prospective students or members of their family who require special mobility assistance should contact the Undergraduate Admissions Center at 512-475-7439 after registering for a campus visit online. Please contact us as soon as possible after registering if you need assistance.

Longhorn Monday on October 8

Experience the Forty Acres during the week while classes are in session. You'll have the opportunity to tour campus, hear from Admissions, housing, financial aid and colleges/schools; and see a few residence halls. Register today»

College & School Info Sessions for Prospective Freshmen

Some colleges, schools and programs (like honors programs) offer information sessions, the chance to sit in on classes, and building tours for prospective students and their families. As most of these sessions are not offered each day, you may want to choose a scheduled academic session and plan the rest of your day on campus around that activity.

You’ll be able to sign up for most of these information sessions when you register online for a campus visit. Some sessions and meetings require individual appointments.

If you don't see a session listed below for a college or major you're interested, check with the individual department(s) to find out if they offer special sessions. You may also call the Undergraduate Admissions Center at 512-475-7440 for more information.

The University of Texas at Tyler

The University of Texas at Tyler will offer two Preview Days so students can tour the campus, meet the professors, talk to counselors, and learn about student life, leadership and opportunities to study abroad.

Preview Days are Saturday, November 10, 2012, 8:30 AM to 1:00 PM or Saturday, April 6, 2013, 8:30 AM to 1:00 PM.

Should you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Office of Admissions at 800 UT TYLER or 903-566-7203.  Check out uttyler.edu/previewday.

 

 

 

Adobe Reader is required to view and print forms. Click here to download Adobe 7.0.8
Report missing links and errors to Ann Dunn.

Welcome, you are visitor # Hit Counter
This webpage has been designed to be viewed at a screen resolution of 1024 X 768 pixels. To learn how to change the resolution of your monitor, click here.

home  /  contact us  /  site map  /  mission statement